Grammar Woes. Literally.

Our 6th edition is well on its way to the printers. Our staff has been spending hours copiously picking apart each and every word in our submissions. Lately, it seems as though my 16th edition of CMS has become my dearest friend. I have fallen into the habit of correcting every grammar mishap I see, and have often bolted awake in the middle of the night from nightmares about copyediting. It perplexes me how often people disregard basic rules of grammar in their everyday writings, but more so, how often people misuse words.

A recent Huffington Post article discusses this tendency, and urges writers familiar with copy editing to relax; the author promises that even if our society can never break the habit of misusing words like “literally” and “myself”, “quality english” will never cease to exist.

Check out the article here.

This entry was posted in Spring Semester 2010 - Vol. 6. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment