New Edition of “Huckleberry Finn”

The trusty Huffington Post just posted a blog post by Evil Wylie’s blog: Evil Reads. As we are all aware, the English had developed a great deal over the past decades. Considering these changes, editor Evil Wylie has “stripped the unsightly ‘n-word’ from Twain’s original text – and replaced it with ‘Navy SEAL.'” Now, Huck goes on his adventure with his friend, Navy SEAL Jim. See the article here.

What impact do you think this will have on the story?

About acurran576

In addition to my teaching, I am a writer. I love dogs, the beach, and rain!
This entry was posted in Spring Semester 2010 - Vol. 6. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to New Edition of “Huckleberry Finn”

  1. studley1728 says:

    This is definitely one of the most ridiculous things I’ve seen in my life. I honestly don’t know if I’d rather have it banned or have it be altered like that…I think I’d go with banned. This whole thing makes me so upset I can’t even articulate how ridiculous I think an alteration a text like this is.

Leave a comment